Meet our Team

We are a group of dedicated scientists, engineers, and technologists who share a common goal of improving global air quality.

David H Hagan

CEO, Co-Founder

David is an atmospheric chemist with an interest in blending computer science with environmental chemistry to improve our understanding of air pollution. He holds Bachelor's degrees in Chemical Physics (Hendrix College) and Chemical Engineering (WashU) and a PhD in Atmospheric Chemistry & Physics from MIT.

Eben S Cross

CSO, Co-Founder

Eben is an atmospheric chemist passionate about building and sharing tools that people can use to improve their air intuition and avoid air pollution. He holds a Bachelor's degree in Environmental Chemistry from Connecticut College and a PhD in Physical Chemistry from Boston College.

Advisory Board

Jay Turner

Advisory Board Member

Jay Turner is a Professor of Energy, Environmental and Chemical Engineering and Vice Dean for Education in the James McKelvey School of Engineering at Washington University in St. Louis. His research primarily focuses on air quality characterization with emphasis on field measurements and data analysis to support a variety of applications in the air quality planing and management, emissions estimation, exposure assessment, and health studies arenas. Jay's team has extensive experience evaluating low- to mid-cost air quality sensors and deploying sensor networks in various settings. Jay currently serves on the US EPA's chartered Science Advisory Board (SAB) and is a past president of the American Association for Aerosol Research (AAAR).

Chintan Vaishnav

Advisory Board Member

Chintan Vaishnav is a socio-technologist, an engineer trained to understand humans as well as technological complexity in large systems. He creates socio-technical systems for improving lives in underserved communities, and analyzes the implications of promoting and managing such technologies for policymakers, managers, and society at large. Applications of his research have led to solutions that improve decisions in agriculture, water, urban governance, healthcare, automotive, and telecommunications sectors. Vaishnav has co-founded a startup in the water sector, and has recently created a platform Billion Social Masks that brings safe masks to all and livelihood to many. He regularly advises for-profits, non-profits and governments on issues intersecting technology, development, and policy. Vaishnav is a Senior Lecturer at MIT's Sloan School of Management and a member of the founding team of the MIT Tata Center for Technology and Design.

Astrid Kiendler-Scharr

Advisory Board Member

Prof. Astrid Kiendler-Scharr is the scientific director of the institute IEK-8: Troposphere, at Forschungszentrum J├╝lic, Germany and full professor for experimental physics at university Cologne. She is lead author of the IPCC 6th assessment report chapter on short lived climate forcers. Her research focusses on chemistry climate interactions with emphasis on secondary organic aerosol formation from biogenic emissions. Her experimental research is primarily performed in large atmospheric simulation chambers and in field studies utilizing e.g. the Zeppelin NT as an airborne platform. Kiendler-Scharr is a member of the Helmholtz Think Tank, steering group member in multiple international projects, and a past president of the Association for Aerosol Research (GAeF). She has supervised more than 20 PhD theses and is author of more than 100 peer-reviewed journal articles.

Doug Worsnop

Advisory Board Member

Doug Worsnop is Vice President and the Director of the Center for Aerosol and Cloud Chemistry at Aerodyne Research, Inc. In addition, he is a Distinguished Visiting Professor at the Institute of Atmospheric Research at the University of Helsinki. Doug has led the development of some of the most important and influential advances in atmospheric aerosol instrumentation over the past 20 years. At Aerodyne, he continues to lead global sales of aerosol mass spectrometer systems with proven success in India, China, Europe, and beyond. He has authored more than 550 scientific papers with more than 50,000 citations to date. More importatntly, he has played a pivotal role in the mentorship of numerous young atmospheric scientists, many of whom are now international leaders in the field. Doug is a fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS), the American Geophysical Union (AGU), and the American Association for Aerosol Research (AAAR). Doug has received numerous awards for his contributions to the field inlcuding the Yoram Kaufman Award for Unselfish Cooperation in Research, the Fuchs Memorial Award, and the Benjamin Liu Prize for Aerosol Instrumentation.

Nevan Hanumara

Advisory Board Member

Dr. Hanumara is a Research Scientist in MITs Mechanical Engineering department, where he focuses on human-centered design with an approach that is collaborative, translational, and entreprenurial. In parallel with MIT, he mentors and consults for multiple startups and serves as an advisor to the New England Medical Innovation Center and develops international innovation training programs.

John Saffell

Advisory Board Member

John Saffell is a Director of a startup company, NosmoTech Ltd, based in Cambridge, UK. The first company he founded, Solomat Ltd. developed and manufactured portable air quality and IAQ monitors from 1979 until 1995. He was co-founder in 1997 and CTO of Alphasense, Ltd. until recently, leading the company in the development of gas sensors for the safety and air quality industries. Alphasense is well established in the industrial gas safety market and in 2007 John focused the company's R&D efforts towards a family of ppb electrochemical gas sensors for air quality. These sensors are now the world leaders for use in low-cost air quality networks and are used in QuantAQs products. John sits on standards committees in both Europe and the USA, writing performance standards for industrial safety and air quality instrumentation. John has a BSc in Chemistry from MIT and a PhD in Materials Science from University of Cambridge. John holds patents for air quality sensors and instrumentation.

Cara Hogan

Advisory Board Member

Cara Hogan is a marketing leader with nearly 10 years of experience in B2B technology. She is currently the VP of Marketing at, the Fleet Vision solution helping the global supply chain become safer and more productive. Previously, she was the VP of Enterprise Marketing at, the weather intelligence and climate resilience platform. She has a degree in journalism from Boston University and loves surfing, skiing, and rock climbing with her husband and daughter.

Interested in joining our team?

Hit us up and we'll get in touch with you.